Deutsch DEUTSCH | English ENGLISH
General Information > Country Information

Country Information

State name:

Turkmenistan (turkmen: Türkmenistan)

Size of the country:

488.100 km², nearly 80% desert (Garagum), second largest central Asian country


Ashgabat (approximately 860.000 inhabitants)


6.9 million Inhabitants (July, 2007)

National languages:


National Day:

27th October, Independence Day

Government form:

Presidential Republic. Turkmenistan's Parliament is a unicameral parliament. (Medjlis).

Head of state:

On 11th February 2007 Gurbanguly Berdimukhamedov was elected President of Turkmenistan and came into office on 14th February 2007.

Head of the government:

President is also a head of the Government. Official office name: Chairperson of the Cabinet of Ministers of Turkmenistan.

Membership in international Organizations:

Membership in more than 60 international organizations, including the United Nations Organization, Economic Cooperation Organization,
Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe, Non-Aligned Movement, Organization of the Islamic Conference etc.


Turkmen Manat